Joshua Bell – Barbican Hall

11 November 2015
London, UK


11 November
London, UK

Barbican Hall
7:30pm – 9:30pm



  • Prokofiev Symphony No. 1 in D major Op. 25 (“Classical”)
  • Tchaikovsky Violin Concerto in D major Op. 35
  • Interval – 30 minutes
  • Mozart Symphony No. 40 in G minor K.550



Joshua Bell takes centre-stage in his calling card, Tchaikovsky’s thrilling Violin Concerto. Full of explosive musical acrobatics and fiendishly difficult technical passages, this unabashed showcase is widely regarded as the pinnacle of the violin repertoire. Prokofiev’s neoclassical “Classical” Symphony opens the concert, blending the Russian’s twentieth-century colour with Haydn’s eighteenth-century classical form. Completing a popular programme is Mozart’s “Great G Minor Symphony”, containing one of the most instantly recognisable classical melodies ever written.

Joshua spoke to us for an ASMF Podcast episode to lift the lid on the secrets of Tchaikovsky’s virtuosic Violin Concerto:

Our London concert programmes for the 2015/16 season are available free this year, thanks to the generous support of our programme sponsor, J&A Beare. Read a digital copy of the evening’s programme below:


Classic FM Recommended By Colour RGB

This concert is recommended by Classic FM. Click here to find out more about the Academy’s partnership with Classic FM.


Tickets: £40 / £33 / £27 / £15

Box Office: +44 (0)20 7638 8891

Booking fees may apply

Front Row tickets available to 16-25s for £5 have now sold out.
Click here to sign up for the Front Row e-newsletter.