Bach and Brahms

11 March 2021

Streaming online until 10 April

Buy a ticket


Written, as it is, for an ensemble without violins, Johannes Brahms’ Serenade No.2 is rarely performed but has long been on our programming wish-list and – with ‘no violins’ as the starting point for this concert – J.S Bach’s sixth Brandenburg Concerto is the perfect companion piece. The programme is completed with James MacMillan’s wind quintet ‘Untold’ which is scored for cor anglais rather than oboe.


J.S Bach: Brandenburg Concerto, No. 6 in B flat major, BWV 1051

James MacMillan: Untold

Brahms: Serenade, No. 2 in A major, Op. 16

Tap here for the programme notes.

Buy an Academy Access Pass to all 6 orchestral concerts broadcast online from March-August and save 10%

 Access Pass £54 / Individual concerts £10 each

Buy an Academy Access Pass


Robert Smissen
Ian Rathbone
Nicholas Barr
Alexandros Koustas

Richard Lester
Will Schofield
Juliet Welchman
Reinoud Ford

Lynda Houghton
Christopher West

Harry Winstanley
Sarah Newbold

Rebecca Larsen

Timothy Rundle

Oboe/Cor Anglais
Rachel Ingleton

James Burke
Thomas Lessels

Julie Price 
Graham Hobbs

Stephen Stirling
Joanna Hensel

John Constable

Available to watch online from 11 March – 10 April

How to watch the online concert

You can watch the performance from 7.30pm on Thursday 11 March and it will be available to watch as many times as you like for the following 30 days. Your access details will be sent to you 24 hours before the performance starts, with full details of how to watch the concert.

The Academy of St Martin in the Fields and St Martin-in-the-Fields church are closely following government guidance and this concert will adhere accordingly to the latest advice.