Joshua Bell – Edinburgh & London

19 January 2020 - 20 January 2020
19 January 2020
Usher Hall, Edinburgh
20 January 2020
Cadogan Hall, London



  • Bach Violin Concerto in A minor, BWV.1041
  • Schubert Death and the Maiden D.810 (arr. for string orchestra by Mahler)
  • Bach Brandenburg Concerto No. 3 in G major, BWV 1048
  • Piazzolla Four Seasons of Buenos Aires (arr. Leonid Desyatnikov for violin and strings)

Joshua Bell director and violin


Joshua Bell leads the Academy in a programme of iconic string orchestra repertoire from the 18th, 19th and 20th centuries.

Joshua Bell features as soloist in Bach‘s spirited Violin Concerto in A minor before directing his virtuosic third Brandenburg Concerto from the leader’s chair. Mahler’s sumptuous string orchestra arrangement of Schubert‘s String Quartet in D minor `Death and the Maiden’ and Piazzolla‘s Four Seasons of Buenos Aires complete the programme. Adapted by composer and Piazzolla aficionado Leonid Desyatnikov in the 1990s, Four Seasons of Buenos Aires brilliantly fuses Piazzolla’s music with Vivaldi’s original `Four Seasons’ and is undoubtedly one of the most popular violin works of modern times.


Enjoy a clip of Joshua Bell and the Academy performing Piazzolla’s Four Seasons of Buenos Aires.
Filmed at Bravo! Vail Music Festival in 2016.